Tee Times Golf Agency

European Tour golf
Open Portugal is back!

open portugal morgado

Seven years later, European Tour golf returns to Portugal and will be hosted at the Morgado Golf Resort in the Algarve.
The European Tour golf announced today the definitive calendar for 2017 and in it, surprise, there is the “Open of Portugal in the Morgado Golf Resort (full name of the tournament), from 11 to 14 May at the Morgado Golf Course, the Nau Hotels & Resorts Group, in Portimão. The complex has another course, the Álamos Golf Course.
A welcome return, since it was not held since 2010 (under the Estoril Open title in Portugal) in Penha Longa, with victory of the Danish Thomas Bjorn, recently nominated captain of Europe in the Ryder Cup. The event therefore returns to the Algarve, since between 2007 and 2010 was played in Greater Lisbon courses (Oitavos Dunes, Cascais, 2007, 2008 and 2009, and Penha Longa in 2010).
It will be the 55th edition of one of the oldest and most emblematic events of the main European circuit. It will have a prize money of 500,000 Euros and will be dual, in the sense of scoring simultaneously for the European Tour and the Challenge Tour, as was the Madeira Open, which this year will not be played after 23 consecutive editions.
Open Portugal
The Open Portugal is one of three back-to-back races, alongside The Rocco Forte Open – Verdura (18-21 May) in Sicily, Italy, and the Andalucia Valderrama Masters hosted by the Sergio Garcia Foundation (19-22 October).
The Portuguese Open at the Morgado Golf Resort will be hosted by NAU Hotels & Resorts, owner of the golf course, the Portuguese Golf Federation (FPG) and the PGA of Portugal, in association with the European Tour and the Challenge Tour.

Open Portugal - History

Year Course Winner
2011-16 No tournament
2010 Penha Longa Thomas Bjørn (DNK)
2009 Oitavos Dunes Michael Hoey (NIR)
2008 Oitavos Dunes Grégory Bourdy (FR)
2007 Oitavos Golf Pablo Martín (ESP)
2006 Le Meridien Penina Marieke Nivard (NLD)
2005 Oitavos Golf Paul Broadhurst (ENG)
2004 Le Meridien Penina Miguel Ángel Jiménez (SPN)
2003 Vale do Lobo Fredrik Jacobson (SWE)
2002 Vale do Lobo Carl Pettersson (SWE)
2001 Quinta do Lago Phillip Price (WLS)

cheap holidays